Regional Transportation Advisory Committees

The Ministry of Transportation has established eight Regional Transportation Advisory Committees (RTACs) throughout British Columbia that will identify regional transportation needs and advise the minister on regional priorities. The establishment of these committees fulfils a commitment in the ministry’s service plan to give regions a greater say in their transportation needs and planning.

These RTACs will also participate in the ministry’s annual planning processes and feed into the Provincial Strategic Transportation Plan. RTACs are advisory bodies rather than financial authorities. Control of transportation investments will remain with the province.

Committee members were appointed by the minister through a nomination and application process. Participants were drawn from regional districts, business, the transportation industry and other industry sectors.

The RTAC boundaries are based on regional district boundaries except in the Bulkley Nechako, which has been divided into coastal and interior sections. RTAC Boundaries Map - 2,606 PDF. The eight RTACs represent the province outside of the Lower Mainland, where Translink, a regional transportation authority, already exists.


rtac_boundaries_map.jpg (68890 bytes)


Regional Transportation
Advisory Committees


North Coast

  • Kitimat-Stikine Regional District
  • Skeena-Queen Charlotte RD
  • Stikine RD
  • Smithers Local Health Area
    (from the Bulkley-Nechako RD)
  • Burns Lake LHA (from the Bulkley-Nechako RD)


  • Peace River RD
  • Northern Rockies RD


  • Cariboo RD
  • Central Coast RD
  • Fraser-Fort George RD
  • Nechako LHA (from the Bulkley-Nechako RD)

Vancouver Island

  • Alberni-Clayoquot RD
  • Capital RD
  • Comox-Strathcona RD
  • Cowichan Valley RD
  • Mount Waddington RD
  • Nanaimo RD

South Coast/Mountain

  • Powell River RD
  • Squamish–Lillooet RD
  • Sunshine Coast RD

Fraser Valley

  • Fraser Valley RD


  • Central Okanagan RD
  • Columbia-Shuswap RD
  • North Okanagan RD
  • Okanagan-Similkameen RD
  • Thompson-Nicola RD


  • Central Kootenay RD
  • East Kootenay RD
  • Kootenay Boundary RD

No RTAC in the Greater Vancouver Regional District
RTAC = Regional Transportation Advisory Committee
RD = Regional District
LHA = Local Health Area


RTAC Boundaries Map - 2,614 KB PDF

RTAC Terms of Reference - 90 KB PDF