Provincial load restrictions are updated as new information becomes available.

Province of British Columbia


Pursuant to Section 66 of the Transportation Act the following load restrictions will be imposed, on the following Provincial Highways and Roads until further notice:

LOAD RESTRICTIONS –within the Central Kootenay Service Area, (Nelson, Creston, Salmo, Kaslo, Riondel, New Denver, Nakusp, Slocan, Edgewood, Meadow Creek)

Effective 1 pm Pacific Standard Time on March 21, 2018

All Provincial Numbered Highways, as listed below – 100% Legal Axel Loading
Highways 3, 3A, 6, 21, 23, 31, 31A

50% Legal Axle Loading on the following gravelled numbered highway
Highway 31 – Balfour Galena Highway (from pavement/gravel transition in the area of Marblehead, then northerly to the District Boundary at Gerrard Bridge

All Provincial Side Roads, paved or gravel – 70% Legal Axle Loading except as listed below

100% Legal Axle Loading

1. 33rd Ave (From Hwy #3 to Erickson Road)
2. 35th Ave (From Erickson Road to CPR Right of Way)
3. 40th Street (From Hwy 21 to Riverview Road)
4. Airport Road
5. Arrowsmith Road
6. Bathie Road
7. Beasley Road
8. Beggs Road
9. Bellmond Road
10. Canyon Lister Road (From Hwy 3A to Canyon Bridge)
11. Crawford Creek Road (From Hwy 3A to Hedstrom Road)
12. Creston Erickson Road
13. Duck Creek South Road
14. Duck Lake Road South (From Lower Wyndel to Winlaw Road)
15. East Wilson Road
16. Elsie Holmes Road
17. Emerald Road (from Airport Road to 1.5km; 70% thereafter)
18. Foster Road
19. First Avenue (Ymir)
20. Goat River North Road
21. Goat River South Road
22. Hanson Road
23. Harrop Proctor Road
24. Hurry Road
25. Lakeview Arrow Creek Road (West of Big Bear FSR)
26. Lakeview Arrow Creek Road (Southeast of Wenger Road)
27. Leadville Road (From Crystal Road to its connection to Goat River FSR)
28. Lower Wynndel Road
29. McCormick Road
30. Needles North Road
31. Osachoff Road
32. Porcupine Creek Road
33. Queen Victoria Road
34. Riondel Road (From Hwy #3A to Aspen Road)
35. Roseberry Road
36. Rotter Road
37. Sheep Creek Road
38. Six Mile Road
39. Snowshoe Road
40. Upper Brouse road
41. Western Road (Cody Caves)
42. Whatchan Lake Road

50% Legal Axle Loading

1. Arrow Creek East Road
2. Corn Creek Road
3. Duck Lake Road (starting near intersection of Winlaw Road)
4. Indian Road
5. Kootenay River Road (gravel portion west of Speers Road)
6. McMurtrie Road
7. Nicks Island North Road
8. Peterman Road
9. Peters Road
10. Pend D’orielle Road (Waneta-Nelway Road)
11. Uri Road
12. Wilson Road (Wyndel)

Ministry Contact: Rajeeta Bains, District Technician (250) 354-6302

Issued by: Hugh Eberle, District Manager, Transportation, West Kootenay District



The Ministry of Transportation
urges you to check road conditions often.


Environment Canada Weather Office

Back to Load Restrictions Home Page


Copyright. Disclaimer. Privacy. Accessibility.