Table of Contents Improvement Districts

Improvement Districts

Improvement districts are autonomous local government bodies responsible for providing one or more local services for the benefit of the residents in a community. They vary considerably in size from small subdivisions to urban communities but are usually located in rural areas of the province where there has been no alternative form of local governance either available, suitable, or desirable for the community. In structure they are similar to a municipality but are more informal and only provide direct services such as waterworks, fire protection or street lighting rather than general governance.

There are approximately 260 improvement districts currently operating in the province. Your property tax notice will indicate if your property is within an improvement district.

Improvement District bylaws are created under Part 17 of the Local Government Act in the same manner that regional district bylaws are created.

This guide is a living document; it is subject to change without notice. Please check the Rural Subdivisions Website ( to make sure your version is sufficiently current.